iRead (15): The Scarlet Pimpernel.

The Scarlet PimpernelThe Scarlet Pimpernel by Emmuska Orczy.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars.

I let out a long “Awwww!” when I finished reading. This is one of the best-written books I have ever encountered, and Emma Orczy has officially become my top favourite classic female writer (yes, she has just surpassed Jane Austen)!

I was amazed by her assembly of words since the opening paragraph. Although the plot is so predictable, that you solve all the mysteries before she exposes them, although there were points were I felt that Marguerite, the smartest woman in Europe, couldn’t be that foolish, and other points where the pace was almost stagnant, I couldn’t help but enjoy and feel entertained by every line. After all, Emma Orczy still managed to make me fall for The Scarlet Pimpernel and his audacious wits! 🙂

View all my reviews.

Spill your thoughts!

