iRead: (8) And The Mountains Echoed.

Source: Goodreads.com

“I suspect the truth is that we are waiting, all of us, against insurmountable odds, for something extraordinary to happen to us.” 

I started this book because it was picked in my book club, but I knew I was falling in love the moment I began reading.  Like all Khaled Husseni’s works, the book is simultaneously a heart-warming and heart-breaking story. I love everything about his style; the way he can smoothly paint full scenes that burst with color and engaging details, and how he effortlessly makes you smile and cry in one moment.

The novel is a blend of pain, loss, and remorse, as well as hope and longing.  When I reached the last few lines, I wished the book went beyond the 404 pages it was confined to..

“They tell me I must wade into waters, where I will soon drown. Before I march in, I leave this on the shore for you. I pray you find it, sister, so you will know what was in my heart as I went under.”

3 thoughts on “iRead: (8) And The Mountains Echoed.

Spill your thoughts!

