White-coated ramblings: (1) ‘Cause bureaucracy sucks!

So today was my first day as an intern doctor. Let me tell you something about hospital internships in Egypt, you know, it’s kind of like Grey’s Anatomy, except that it’s nothing like Grey’s Anatomy! I’ll be thoroughly talking about this, but not today. Stay posted!

What happened today was a cycle of pleading and begging. Why? Because Egyptian “public servants” are heartless and always bad-tempered. Originally, I was listed in one of the ministry’s hospitals, but I filed a request to be moved to my med school’s educational hospital (not today’s story), let’s just focus on the fact that I DID hand the request to the woman in the corresponding office.

Consequently, I should’ve found my name automatically listed in the hospital’s schedules, which hasn’t happened! You don’t want  to know the details, because it’s so boring, but to cut the story short, they lost my request, and I had to spin around and get shooed from one office to another to file a new one, begging  the employees to just answer my Goddamned questions!

On the plus side, I finally have been listed in pediatrics with cool friends. But we have a night shift tomorrow! Yep, my first ER shift ever is tomorrow! Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “White-coated ramblings: (1) ‘Cause bureaucracy sucks!

  1. visit your blog, read an interesting article. thank you friends for sharing and greetings compassion 🙂

  2. I hear you. I’m a pharmacist and ever since my graduation in 2006 I’ve done my best to avoid this sort of official governmental bullshit. But as you well know, in Egypt it’s practically impossible to avoid this completely.
    I remember that when I had to register with the MOH as a pharmacy manager, I had to request a document from “El Manyal”, take it to some employee in down town at Opera Sq. then go to “Nasr City” to stamp it.
    Anyway, good luck with your new position and as I tell my younger colleagues, make every effort to gain as much practical experience as you can. It will be a great asset in the future.
    If you’re interested, you can check out my page too. I rant a lot about different stuff.
    simplisticbullshit.wordpress.com

    Alaa

Spill your thoughts!

