Scenes: (12) Hiking at Saint Cathrine!

Caution: This post is so interesting! 😛

When I listed “mountain climbing” on my bucket list, I didn’t expect any chances, but it turned out I was unaware that fate had other plans! 😀 Spending the new years eve at Saint Cathrine mountains, southern Sinai felt like a dream, or an episode on National Geographic!

Needless to say, it wasn’t easy whatsoever! The nine-hour bus ride was so tiresome, but  as you arrive to the mountains and let the night cold breeze tickle your nose, and see the literally twinkling twinkling little stars, you just feel numb! I’ve never seen something so beautiful! I wish my digital compact camera could capture the scene! 😦

We started climbing just before midnight. The 7 kilometers until the top were a slippery steep path with endless hitches (I couldn’t make out what they were, because it was jet-black dark. Our torches could barely illuminate one step ahead.) The temperature was probably sub-zero, but of course we were sweating! I’m glad and thankful for the fact that I was the fittest among my friends! 😀

As the path ends, a whole new challenge begins! 750 rocky steps until the top! Taken the fact that we spent the prior couple of hours slipping and tumbling, that was distilled torture! I lost my friends in darkness, and took the steps with only one friend and a single torch!

Around 3 a.m, we made it to the top! I proudly was among the people who made it early! The weather was FREEZING, and we had more than 3 hours until sunrise, so we had to descend some steps down to a shelter, seeking some warmth!

When the golden lights of threads began sneaking into horizon, it was time to get up to the top once more. Enough talking, see for yourself!

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

IMG_1662

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

.

.

I thought the hardest part was over, but as we started descending, I instantly realized I was so wrong! I could now see what the hitches were; small pebbles and sands that make it impossible to stay steady! I slipped tens of times!

IMG_1758

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

.

.

I’d started thinking about my cozy bed at home and was beginning to get angry before something SO special happened! For the first time in my entire life I saw snow! REAL SNOW! I almost cried and kept jumping like a kid! 😀

IMG_1717

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

Copyrights: The accidental Blog © 2014

I was home by 8 p.m that day, and no words can ever describe how accomplished and delighted I feel! 😀 😀

15 thoughts on “Scenes: (12) Hiking at Saint Cathrine!

  1. Pingback: 23 things before turning 23: Review! | The accidental Blog..

Spill your thoughts!

