A painful epiphany!

I always avoid conversations with taxi drivers, particularly political ones. But somehow I slipped into the following one!

Driver: Which side are you on? (Rab’a protesters or the military side).

Me: None. (Just to end the conversation).

Driver: One should make sure they’re on the right side. Right??

Me: I don’t know which side is right. (again trying to opt out the debate).

Driver: You should just follow your heart. What did you feel when you watched the dead bodies on Al Jazeerah channel?

Me: ………….

*Few minutes later*

Driver: You really have to comfort me and tell me which side are you on?

Me: Why does it matter?

Driver: I need to know there still is goodness in the country.

Me:…………….

Driver: You’re right. Remaining silent and all. You know, back during January’s revolution, everybody spoke up, now everybody’s too scared to talk.

That was the moment I realized I was afraid to speak, just like before January 25! I wanted to scream it out loud and tell him no, I am on the right side, I am against butchering innocent people and cremating their bodies. I support people’s right to protest and letting their voice be heard, I am longing for freedom… But I just remained silent!

Driver: I grieved over that massacre’s martyrs more than I grieved over my mother’s death!

Me: …………………

Driver: Okay. If you support Sisi and army forces, just remain silent.

Me: I don’t…. *Trying not to break into tears*

Driver: Thank God. *Exhales*

2 thoughts on “A painful epiphany!

Spill your thoughts!

