Confessions of a semi-doctor: (16) Flashbacks!

Source: Google images.

Today is first day back to schools! It doesn’t , however, apply on senior med-schoolers simply because we haven’t yet finished the year before. Anyway, while my sister dressed up for her high school and brother went off to college, I kept remembering the little kid who made a scene on her first day at KG!

I was a delicate three-and-a-half-year-old kiddy whose sense of security boiled down to the word; mom! I couldn’t apprehend being left with kids I had never met before, doing activities I wasn’t used to. A storm of screams and cries had launched and nothing, absolutely nothing could tame it, even candies!  I remember when mom eventually gave up, she took me to the school’s playground and sat by my side on a swing until I cooled off. Then she took me home! It took me like a week to adapt!

My first day at college was quite the same, except that I was crying inside. I was a naive 16-year-old teen, completely unaware of what awaits me. Mom couldn’t lull me; she was abroad and totally out of reach. Dad, however, drove me to college and left right away. My aunt who graduated from that very place, nevertheless, was a great company. I will never forget the shock when I entered that lectures’ hall for the very first time! Literally, more than a thousand students sat there, in the same room, innocent-faced and confused, just like I was! 

We grow up so fast, don’t we?!

Spill your thoughts!

