iRead: (5) The Hunger Games..

Source: goodreads.com

I remember feeling hesitant before starting the Trilogy, but now that I’m done, well, it’s worth the time! I’m glad I followed my friend Nancy‘s recommendations! As per my review, here’s what I thought of each book:

1. The Hunger Games:

The book is well-written, the plot is nicely tailored, and I got sucked in as if I was there in the “Games” which reminds me of J. K. Rowling’s style. Yet my remarks are on how the author wrapped things up; it left me somehow confused, not knowing what to expect and not sure whether I loved the end or not! Of course I had to wait until finishing the series to draw my full judgement.

2. Catching fire:

Oh oh! So thrilling that you can’t stop reading! I don’t remember a chapter ending without a cliffhanger! It was MUCH better than the first part! I genuinely loved it and couldn’t wait to start the final part!

3. Mockingjay:

The last chapter along with the epilogue were so heart-wrenching, that it got me crying! I loved the book, but book 2 was better though..

**SPOILERS** Call me cold-hearted, but I can’t help but feel frustrated that Peeta hasn’t died. It would’ve been more powerful I guess if he or Gale did! Now with this classic happily ever after of Katniss and Peeta getting together and having children, it pretty much reminds me of what I disliked about how Rowling ended Harry Potter! But the last paragraph did touch me..

“My children, who don’t know they play on a graveyard. Peeta says it will be okay. We have each other. And the book. We can make them understand in a way that will make them braver. But one day I’ll have to explain about my nightmares. Why they came. Why they won’t ever really go away.

I’ll tell them how I survive it. I’ll tell them that on bad mornings, it feels impossible to take pleasure in anything because I’m afraid it could be taken away. That’s when I make a list in my head of every act of goodness I’ve seen someone do. It’s like a game. Repetitive. Even a little tedious after more than twenty years.
But there are much worse games to play.”

However, I collectively am glad I read the series.. 🙂

4 thoughts on “iRead: (5) The Hunger Games..

  1. I thought this trilogy was brilliant and will definitely read them again at some point. I thought they were quite good as it was something different being set in the future, but at the same time hinting at the past with districts fighting for survival.
    I just need to see the films now and see if they live up to the standard of the books.

    • I didn’t like the 1st movie, things went so fast and there were too many unmentioned stuff! Books are generally much better than the movies..

  2. I didn’t read the book, but I have seen the first movie. It was not a good movie. There was nothing to look forward to, it had no thrill, and it certainly did not have me curious. I assume the book is really good though because I don’t think it would have such a huge fan base otherwise 🙂

Spill your thoughts!

