Who am I?

Source: Facebook.

Source: Facebook.

Turning twenty-two today, I come to think a little philosophical. As I turn to face the past two decades, I can’t help but ask myself, what did I achieve and what do I want? And no  convincing answer comes..

Well, I’m aware that I’m growing stronger, no doubt. I know I’m a single step away from being a doctor, which’s big. I have the skills and the will to be a best-selling author and I’m thankful for everything I already have and everything yet to come, but there’s a tiny jumbled part of me who doesn’t know where I belong or who I really am. Seriously, am I that girl people think I am, that girl I think I am or someone solely alien to herself and the world??

Ever felt that lost??

17 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. Interesting. I distinctly remember having an identical discussion with myself on the day I turned 20. Rest easy, more than four decades later, I’ve discovered that my concerns on that day were unfounded. Time has a way of offering up countless opportunities to achieve.

  2. I don’t know you but I feel for you, as I was in the same place a few years ago. Read my story– maybe you will find something in it to help you. I am following your blog– I am eager to see what you discover for yourself.

  3. Hey, Happy Birthday!
    I’ve been thinking that way since I turned 21 (I’m 24 this year).
    Always thought of myself as a hard worker, thirsty for achievement. But then, some days I wake up and just wonder… who am I and what am I doing with my life???
    So, yes. I have felt that lost. But unfortunately, I can’t provide you with some genius answer.
    Maybe everybody is like this at this age. Maybe we just go through the motions of life sort wallowing around, with no real purpose. Or maybe be find ourselves when we’re ready. Who knows?

  4. Hi ! I am sure there is not an absolute answer to that question irrespective of age . You can live with some illusions though..But it is good to have such thoughts at intervals. Gives a reality check..

  5. Happy Birthday!

    Ah, I think I’m right where you are. Aspiring poet and writer and drowning in a mire of textbooks. Don’t worry though. That bout of indecision and self doubt is temporary. The fact that you’re not cocky even though you’re almost on this side of medschool is something good. 🙂

    ~Cookie

Spill your thoughts!

