Confessions of a semi-doctor: (7) Five things we fight for..

My med-school: Faculty of medicine, Ain Shams University.. Source: Google images.

Med. school is undeniably tough.. You struggle to gain knowledge and marks as well, but when it comes to med-schools in Egypt, well, it’s a whole different story.. It’s not only about coping with unusual loads of stress, but also having to overcome “few” extra obstacles!

  • Welcome to the troop!

A single alumni alone embraces over than 1700 students, yes, and we’re supposed sometimes to attend in one hall! If we get divided into groups, still one professor is supposed to handle a flock of students! Surprisingly, it doesn’t seem to be a major problem here, for in other faculties, it can reach 12000 students per alumni!

  • Where do I learn?

A great percent of the staff don’t really feel like teaching, some may really want you to understand, but they don’t have the skill.. Whether it’s because they’re overwhelmed or because they don’t get sufficiently paid, private lessons is always the answer!

For each subject, pops a doctor or two who have the skill, the patience, and the charisma to teach you the curriculum efficiently, but of course you have to pay A LOT! Unfortunately, this is the trend in here!

  • When Should I study??

Since you have to go to both college (to state your attendance so you don’t lose marks or get expelled), and to the private lessons (to gain the knowledge), you end up spinning the whole day jumping from one place to another (Hint: Cairo’s traffic sucks!), you get no weekends, and when you finally arrive home, you’re too exhausted and so drained that you fall asleep waking up the next day to resume the vicious cycle..

  • What am I supposed to learn?

Medicine of course, but in an academically strict university like mine, we have the heaviest curriculum, the rigid-est and the most extremely unforgiving staff! Everyone has their own rules and they expect you to read their minds.. Sometimes I think they enjoy intimidating us!

  • Where do I end up?

It’s all about your score, the lower it gets, the lesser your chance to find a right job.. Lots of us may stay jobless, not to mention that medical career is one of the least paid in the country.. (I’m not exaggerating!)

P.S. I’m not posting this to complain or resent, I’ve been there for five years and have yet learnt to adapt, it’s a part of being a doctor. I’m just letting you know that it’s unfair to compare us to “Harvard” for instance, ’cause they simply don’t have half the strength or the fighting spirit we have.. :D

5 thoughts on “Confessions of a semi-doctor: (7) Five things we fight for..

  1. I hate that you felt a need to apologize for your true feelings and concerns about a situation that is not ideal. This makes me so sad that we are now so worried about saying something that might “offend” someone that when we do share (I would assume that is your family-friendly version) because of the disclaimer most of us don’t say anything at all if it is against political correctness or we lie through our teeth. Think about that, we need to avoid pain so badly that we are now not even discussing angry feelings or feelings of sadness in conversations. That seems very dangerous to me. Lies and false reality all the time in exchange for being nice and not bringing up x, y. z?

    I will post my comments on the University and medical discussion tomorrow. I’m sorry but your post really struck a nerve or two or three. There is complete lack of respect in this country for other human beings but their own selves. They NEED doctors so tou should be forced to treat them while taking a major pay cut as well. Doc, I feel your pain. You lwork hard, long hours, ungrateful impassioned students who have no goals of revolutionizing medicine or unique ideas or methods And then, you feel like you are doing something wrong when you post the problems irrent system instead of being thanks for the brilliant solution! You are the reason for nurses/doctors who make the health care experience wonderful for me the patient every time. Thank you. Any time you’d like to really vent, I’m all ears :)

    Why is it that doctors shouldn’t get paid what they are worth in order to treat you and everyone else who couldn’t afford $250 a month per person for health care?
    What if he has given out enough kindness and decides he is done along with the rest? Get cheaper doctors? Force him at gunpoint? What then?

    Erika

    • Dear Erika,
      Well, I’m not sure you got my point (or maybe it’s me who got you wrong), I’m posting this as a sarcastic way of describing reality.. It’s not that I’m in pain, or that I’m feeling guilty for criticizing my situation.. I’m just saying we endure much more stress than ordinary medical students in the US or Europe..

      If you check our Facebook group, you’ll see how all the students in my college have the same way of accepting reality and making fun of it, I’m really sorry if my post saddened you, it was meant to be funny one.. :D

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a semi-doctor: (8) Five best things about med-school.. | The accidental Blog..

Spill your thoughts!

