Confessions of a semi-doctor: (5) … And then you procrastinate!!

I’ve always been a procrastinator, always! Mom says it reflects no sense of responsibility, this is doubtless, and for a “med-schooler”, it’s also quite risky!!

You get that false sense of security; peace of mind, and you don’t give a damn till a near exam punches you pretty hard! Adrenaline floods you and miraculously, you get the job almost done! You score a B, sometimes C, not so bad! You know you’d score an A+ with a little more effort, but as always, you end up next year exactly the way you were last year!!

Sometimes I think it means I’m strong enough to get through that stress (though I panicked before my finals two years ago!), but I still hate it! And this year is like no other, for the “tons” of pages I  need to study and the new clinical skills I have to learn! And what’s my progress so far?? Less than 10%!!

I still have 6 months till finals knock my door, it ain’t so late (PHEW!), yet I keep wondering when the dropping temperature would stop dragging me down, ’cause I gotta start running to catch the rain I’ve missed!!

Source: Google images.

Follow Me on Pinterest

26 thoughts on “Confessions of a semi-doctor: (5) … And then you procrastinate!!

  1. I am a last minute person too. Every time I tell myself, I would do it differently the next time.When the next time comes, its the same story all over again. My husband once told me, he truly wishes that I would fail for once instead of often just passing so that I would finally learn my lesson. That hasn’t happened till now either. 🙂 Although I imagine a medical degree is a whole other matter. Get a start on it! 🙂

    • Mom told me before I’d learn too if I failed once, and THANK GOD, I don’t just pass, my average score is “B”, but it’s not satisfying at all in med school..

      • 🙂 I guess that is the main problem. I was the best in year in my MBA class with a straight A grade. I wonder how different my ife would have been with more disciplined approach to my studies. Probably would have become a doctor. 😉 Wish you all the best. It is not too late for you.

  2. I was always “the last minute” girl…..it was so stressful especially before the finals year after year and every time I promised myself that was the last time. My 14 year old is the same way. He’s so bright and could be straight A with little effort, but he is just like his mom. I am trying to change him and hoping by the time he goes to college I will change him.

    Good Luck!

  3. I am a horrible procrastinator. Or… an amazing procrastinator?
    I find that if I’m given a “due date” at least I can time my dilly dallying. I’m the worst when things are open ended though. I’ll put things off forever.

  4. I am a procrastinator!!! But well, I’ve accepted it. Over the years I realiZe it all depends on what the project is. If it’s something I’m interested in, I don’t procrastinate. If it’s something I dread, I put it off to last minute 😉

  5. Procrastinate was never in my vocabulary. I was highly organized, arrived early, packed in advance, at the gate hours before departure, etc. Then … I turned 40 and it all went to hell. Not sure why this happened but I’m thinking of getting a tattoo with “procrastinator” on it. I just keep putting off calling the shop for an appointment.

  6. Personally, I think that if procrastinating works for you, and you need that ‘rush’ to get it done, then all the power to ya. I’m the same. Nothing gets done until there’s no more time. Its frustrating, but I accept it as I am who I am.

  7. Ahhh… Procrastinator and a medical student! A deadly combination! I wonder If I can ever get rid of my bad habit of procrastinating… I always tell myself, this was the last time, Next time insha’Allah I will do better, but,but,but….. Anyhow, Good to know that there are semi-doctors other than me, atleast I am not alone in having this habit 😀

Spill your thoughts!

