Confessions of a semi-doctor: (4) Marching to “Tahrir”..

I should’ve posted this earlier, but I was dead-tired! I’m not fit for standing on my feet that long! But it was totally worth it!

Finally, I’ve spoken my mind out and set my imprisoned anger free! As I was abroad during Jan. 25th revolution, frustration was eating my heart out till two days ago, when I let it all out!

Joining “El Tahrir doctors” march to Tahrir square during the past two days has made me see a different side of Egyptians, a golden side.. Protesters there are definitely neither thugs nor “infiltrators”; I could see kids as well as people in the age of my grandparents.  The square had brought the poor and the wealthy, the ignorant and the educated all together.. Well, the word “Egyptians” sums the scene best!

Everybody was more than welcomed, but I never expected that going there “white-coated” has that very special impact! Since the first moment of our entrance, we were overwhelmed by clapping and whistling!
At the field hospital, people who offered free medical supplies and food were countless, they got us piles! Volunteers too, whether medical students or doctors, were way too many that I felt my presence useless.. I was just standing there holding a bottle of saline and literally doing nothing when a woman came by and patted my shoulder saying “God bless you!”, I never thought of myself that way before, but to that simple woman, I was a life saver!

They were only two days, I didn’t go today and regret it terribly. Something keeps telling me that I belong there; at Tahrir, “the capital of freedom”..

Here’s November 21st’s march:

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a semi-doctor: (4) Marching to “Tahrir”..

Spill your thoughts!

