4 days of joy! ツ

I love family traditions, especially when it comes to holidays and feasts. The sweet flavor of such occasions has always given me that warm feeling of belonging somewhere.. 🙂

This morning, we started celebrating “Eid Al-Adha“; the “Greater eid” or “The feast of sacrifice”. Rituals last for four days (which are an official vacation :D) and from the name, “sacrificing” a sheep and equally sharing the meat with relatives, friends and the needy takes place among other rituals.
(If that interests you, I strongly recommend reading about it in this friend-post).

Anyway, I’m shedding the light on the social side; sharing and bringing people together. As a kid, I remember how excited I felt about getting up early on the first day of eid, wearing my new clothes, going to the “Eid prayer” with my family, exchanging greetings on our way with whoever we met and bonding with the “sheep” before facing its destiny!

I can recall too, being eager to meet up later with my cousins, uncles and aunties at my grandparent’s place, watching a movie together or going for a barbecue, blowing baloons with friends or neighbors and bragging about the “eideya” (money of eid) I collected from my parents and relatives. And for sure, I never missed the most thrilling part; joining a mini-FIREWORKS party with the other kids!!

In case you’re wondering about now, I certainly can tell that years have changed nothing! Except for abandoning fireworks (it’s not that I mind, but seeing a 20-years-old playing fireworks down the street is just awkward!) and ditching the sheep, I’m still that little kid! 😉 🙂

image

One thought on “4 days of joy! ツ

  1. Pingback: Scenes: (4) Capturing magnificence! | The accidental Blog..

Spill your thoughts!

