iRun: (1) Running 101: NEVER skip cardio!

IMG_1553

The accidental Blog.. © 2013

Save for today, I have never run further than few meters. In fact, I never was into running or any sort of cardio training, and perhaps that’s why I love lifting weights! So anyway, today was “Cairo Runners” season finale, and the shortest run was near 10 kilometers. I needed to prove I’m fit enough, so I gave it a go..

The run started at 7 am. At 7:05 am, I was panting. At 7:10 am, a simple realization hit me; I’m so incredibly unfit! Out of 10 kilometers, I walked around 9. To make things worse, I wore the wrong shoes (because my running sneakers didn’t match my clothes! Silly!); they were so un-comfy and kept making loud noises as I hit the road! Oh, did I ever mention how bumpy Cairo streets are??

Astonishingly, fifty-something men could swiftly sprint past me, when I was literally dragging myself and battling to catch my breath! My 14-year-old sister outran me, because I was just so turtle-ish!

I made the run (or technically the walk) within an hour and 44 minutes! So from this moment on, I’m obliged to:

  1. Run more regularly.
  2. Break the above “record”.
  3. Win a half marathon within the next year.

I’ll keep you posted!

One thought on “iRun: (1) Running 101: NEVER skip cardio!

  1. Pingback: iRun: (2) It gets better! | The accidental Blog..

Spill your thoughts!

